ATV1 Set UP Concerns

tpleash

Jun 9, 2014
Hi, An absolute newbie here.

My config is a MACPRO and an ATV1.

I have a few questions, they may sound simple, but they are a concern for me. If you can assist it would be appreciated and Thanks in advance.

1. I've tried to install using ATV USB Creator for Mac as indicated on the Downloads page and it fails every time during the setting up of the USB Drive. see log below. However in trying to solve this, I found more information which SEEMS to suggest that this process is no longer valid?? and that you should use terminai to download CrystalBuntu. I haven't tried this process as yet. What is the right process for today.?

2. If I strike a problem further in the process as I go or, even after a successful installation, is it possible to roll back to the original Apple OS.

3. After installing, will the ATV still talk to iTunes (I assume it won't) or how do I get videos and music to the ATV from my existing library.

4. Is it possible to plug a hard drive into the USB following installation and if so, what format is required.

I'll leave it there for the moment, but if anyone can assist it will be appreciated.

Cheers

Terry

Log File
=====
Downloading 2Z694-6013-013.dmg...
Download complete!
Extracting boot.efi ...
Extracting recovery seed ...
extracting atv_recv.zip
Creating USB Flash Disk...
umount_disk settling delay (10 seconds)
partition the target disk
umount_disk settling delay (10 seconds)
install recovery onto target disk
Unable to mount recovery: GetMasterBlock: Error 13 opening /dev/rdisk1s2
GetMasterBlock: Error 13 opening /dev/rdisk1s2
mount_hfs: Permission denied
install_recovery failed
Failed! (0:00:47)

filletboy

Nov 27, 2012
Mass, US
understand your concerns but if you want xbmc on your apple tv 1
than you should forgo i tunes cause why have i tunes on your tv when you can use your computer?
Just a thought