Just a friendly rant, its a shame there's still so much poor quality sources

thepixy

Jun 3, 2017
I've been messing with Kodi for about as many years as its been around, especially following the add ons (Ex**us and Redux are my current faves). I'm sure the contributors are compensated in some way for their trouble, but its a shame that what I'd call "junk" providers are not weeded out. The number of times I've looked at a so called 1081 or 720i stream, only to find that its resolution is worse than typical SD. In some cases you'll even find instances of the old "set up a camera in a theater" quality copies. Then to add insult to injury, way too many times you will look up a title, find it, and then discover that all the downloads available are not even the right move.

Like I said, its just a friendly rant, but it seems like in all these years things are getting worse. At best 1/3rdof the time you'll find what your looking for, with decent resolution. Whe I do, even if its buffering horribly I can always download and let it cook all day. And now that the IDSPs are cracking down again (SPECTRUM now blocks most of Kodi's add on scraper targets), there's no getting away fron needing an VPN. NORDvpn is offering a decent deal now if you buy 3 years, but between the need for a VPN, and the constant battle to get a good stream (RaeolDebrid is probably better, but costs more), I'm not very hopeful about Kodi still being worthwhile in the years to come. Its no going to live up to its hoped "free " content much longer.

Thoughts?

capslock

Jan 1, 2018
No problems here, for years. The 2 mentioned add/ons are working perfectly here, a few 1080 links, enough 720 links, and hundreds of SD links, nó buffering, )fast VDSL internet, few installed apps on box, big ram-rom space on box.

Reactions: thepixy

RavRob

Staff member
Nov 21, 2012
The Halls of Valhalla