Kodi 17.1 video stalling issues via SMB

dominicoo

Apr 10, 2017
Hi all. I'm a relative novice with Kodi's advanced functions. I have having issues playing back video files on Kodi (on a new Amazon Fire Stick with Alexa remote) from my networked laptop via SMB. Specifically, I am trying to play a large video file in x264 format (720p). Running Kodi 17.1 on the AFTV. The video plays fine for about 20 minutes or so and then stalls for a few seconds, with Kodi kicking out of the movie and back to the file list in SMB. When I go to resume the video, it resumes fine but will stall out again in about 20 minutes or so. This problem started happening a few weeks ago (also on the older Jarvis version). Prior to a few weeks ago, I have played numerous files from my laptop to completion just fine. This only appears to happen only when playing files from SMB.

FYI, I changed my advancedsettings to: cachmembebuffersize 157286400 (also tried smaller cache sizes down to 30MB or so given the Fire Stick), buffer mode 1, and readbufferfactor 5 (also tried 10). It happens with either settings.

Here is a copy of the Kodi log:

https://pastebin.com/7ENGqcYX

any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Meep

Aug 23, 2016
Well for one, unless you know what you are doing and have a limited reason to change the advanced settings, it's best to avoid the temptation...

And this is one reason for my above comment, cachmembebuffersize, readbufferfactor and is outdated syntax, it does nothing for Kodi 17.1 and will be ignored... In all likelihood any changes you made to advancedsettings.xml are being ignored as you are using the wrong syntax for 17.1... So best to just delete it, and/or remove any additions you made at this point, it's not going to help your problems...