New to set-top streaming boxes - need to ask a few basic questions.

SumGuy

May 29, 2017
I'm new to set-top media boxes, and have been asked by some family relatives to look into this and see what it's all about. I'm refering to the "Kodi Fully Loaded" (or KFL for short) thing. I have some basic questions that I haven't seen asked or answered in the general media or on other web sites. My questions are this:

1) How close does a KFL box simulate having a working cable-tv service? What channels or networks are available? Would I, for example, be able to stream my local network affiliates (ABC, NBC, PBS, etc) ? What about specialty channels (CNN, HGTV, Weather network, etc) ? I'm not asking what kodi addons I'll need, where to get them, etc. I just want to know what's possible to stream if I obtain the right addons.

2) Will I need a VPN? I'm not concerned about exposing my actual IP while streaming. I want to know if I will NEED a VPN to do some, most or all of the streaming that I'm thinking about in question (1) above. My desire to dive into this at all will be greatly reduced if a VPN is needed, and even more so if we're talking about a PAID vpn. And one more thing, since I'm in Canada, does that impact on this VPN question if I'm talking about US channels / networks?

3) I remember years ago when watching hacked satellite TV required all sort of gimicks that had to be updated every so often. Does the KFL experience also require hooking into or connecting with third parties for codes or passwords to stream some or most content? If so, are we talking paid or free access to these codes / passwords?

I'm trying to understand what the full KFL experience is like in order to decide if it's worth it. I appreciate any comments / answers in this regard. Thanks.

RavRob

Staff member
Nov 21, 2012
The Halls of Valhalla