No Airplay with Raspbmc and Macbook Pro

mrtwinder

Apr 27, 2013
Canada
I have researched till im ready to quit, so hopefully someone can help me here. I am using a wired RPI connection and when trying to Airplay, I am able to see the raspbmc as an option to select, but when I do, nothing happens, it doesn't let me select it even though it recognizes it there.

From what I have seen for problems and fixes is that "Multicasting" needs to be enabled on my router (Dlink 815). When I do this, I get a failure on the "Server" portion of my wireless internet connection on my mac. I can access my router, but not the internet. Is this an ISP problem? and what can be done to fix this?

I have also tried to connect the macbook wired like the RPI but still the same problem persists.

I have found a post where the user states...

I have been using OpenElec for several months now and the latest build I am running is r13646 from Mar 24. Things are generally working fine but I do have three airplay issues I could use some help with:

Video airplay simply doesn't work; I can airplay music but when I airplay video and hit play on my iphone or ipad, playback never starts on the rpi
For music, when I airplay music, I get occasional "crackling" in the audio playback at random intervals (occuring every 10-30 seconds)... I'm using an HDMI connection between my rpi and HDTV. When I play back the same music without airplay on my iphone or ipad, there is no crackling or corruption thus I know the source music is fine.