Nvidia Shield

robsteeler66

Aug 21, 2015
I sent back my Fire TV and picked up an Nvidia Shield because it has more memory. I don't see it mentioned much though, so I'm not sure if a lot of people are using it. This makes it harder for me to find personalized instruction since I'm a novice with this sort of thing. There are a lot of acronyms flying around and sometimes I'm not sure what they all mean. Also, I'm not sure what all I should do to get the most out of my Shield. I used the config wizard and put the various addons on, and now I'm trying to put Spor**dev*l on like I had on my Fire TV. What would some of you do to get the best effect from the unit?

TheLion

Jun 2, 2013
Central Florida USA
I have two shields I liked the first one so much.

I save my add-ons and user data folders that took me a long time to get just right, then just copy over the ones that come stock in lodi 15.1 then all my entire installation is complete just the way I like it and it's duplicate to any kids install I ever do.

Look here in the forum for Spo*ts De*il add on installation thread. Once you get kodi the way you like it copy those files I mentioned to a card or hard drive so you always have them then you'll never have to struggle again to build it the way you want it.

Good luck

Will Fielding

Feb 9, 2015
Hi TheLion, you mention that you really like the NVIDIA shield, I have been looking to purchase either this or the Chromebox.

I have a quick question, how fast is the shield in loading sources on SA*TS or Genesis, would it take 5, 10 or 20 seconds to load up all the individual links?

Have you any experience with the Chromebox do you know how it compares speed wise ?

Thanks

Thank

TheLion

Jun 2, 2013
Central Florida USA
The shield will blow away the chrome box it's not even comparible it's like comparing an apple to an orange.

As far as I know the shield is the fastest android device out there other than a windows custom made machine with 32gb ram memory